Support for patternProperties?

I’ve started playing around with jsonforms and it doesn’t appear that patternProperties are supported. Is that the case? Any plans to support this soon?

Hi @dieseldjango, this is a pretty advanced use case. We don’t support it at the moment and it’s not on our priority list for now, however we’ll definitely consider a good contribution.

Using a custom renderer you can definitely add patternProperties support to your forms. Let me know in case you need help with that.

Thanks for the quick response @sdirix. I’m new to your package, so any pointers on how to create a custom renderer would be appreciated.

I would recommend checking out the tutorial. Also all already provided renderers use the very same mechanism as a custom renderer, so you can also look through the JSON Forms code base when you are wondering how a specific renderer is implemented.

I am looking to create a custom renderer for a JSON object that looks like

{
  "rules": {
     "<NameHere>": {
     },
     "<NameHere>": {
     }
}

What I want is some kind ability to add/delete a new field/property. I am imagining something similar to what I see with arrays with a [+] button and a field name to be entered. The schema of the fields is structured so I want to pass control back to Json Forms to render the body of the property. What I’m looking to get a feel for is the high level “algorithm” or key building blocks that I should be looking at within my custom renderer.

Hi @kolban-google,

for this use case you need to solve two challenges:

Rendering a UI for existing ‘dynamic’ properties. One way of implementing the functionality is with a custom renderer for the element which contains the patternProperties. In the custom renderer you determine all “dynamic” properties, and for each one generate a schema & uischema & path tupel. You can then hand these over to the dispatch mechanism of JSON Forms to render the UI for your property.