JSON forms 3.0alpha no applicable renderer found

Hi again,

i’ve recently tried upgrading to mui 5 and json forms 3 alpha and i’m having some troubles. I’m now getting ‘no applicable renderer found’ for the same renderer set, same schema, ui schema, data, ajv that I previously had.

I’ve tried to create a stackblitz project to demonstrate this issue, I tried to use the current seed project and then add my schema and UI schema but I wasn’t able to even get the seed project working, apologies if it’s just lack of experience using stackblitz. Here’s the link: Eclipsesource - Jsonforms React Seed - StackBlitz
I’ve added my own schema and ui schema which can be seen at /src/test.schema.json and /src/test.uischema.json

any help greatly appreciated.

Hi @james-morris!

I have no experience with StackBlitz, but it seems to modify the root package json and perform some magic compiling etc. So I don’t think it’s worth the time to getting jsonforms-react-seed to work there. You can always just fork the seed, add your schemas there and then send a link to the fork.

Did you follow our migration guide? We removed the 3rd-party dependency we had integrated for JSON Schema resolving. I think this is most likely what’s going wrong in your case. The only remaining issue for JSON Forms for a stable 3.0 release is to improve the internal resolving we have in JSON Forms already to mostly cover all the use cases we had before.

You can restore the old behavior of JSON Forms by just resolving the JSON Schema yourself before handing it to JSON Forms. I’m pretty sure that this should solve your problems. This resolving step is what happened internally in JSON Forms before version 3.0. I can recommend json-refs for that, you can find example code in the migration guide.

Hi @sdirix , i’ve not seen the migration guide, that’s really helpful, i’ll start looking at that. What version of node do you use to build your seed project. I’m using 17.4 locally and can’t get npm start to run.