Conditionals in Schema

Hi,

I am new to JSONForms and wanted to make sure that I understand things correctly. My understanding is that JSONForms does not support conditionals (if, then, else…) in the Schema and that if you have something like that, you simply need to create a version of them in the UISchema instead. Is that correct?

Also, which draft of json schema should I ideally target?

Lastly, do you have any rough idea of when version 3 might be released. JSONForms looks promising for a couple of projects I am working on and one of the questions that is going to come up is which version to target.

Cheers,

Alex

Hi @AlexNeblett,

Thanks for your interest in JSON Forms.

I am new to JSONForms and wanted to make sure that I understand things correctly. My understanding is that JSONForms does not support conditionals (if, then, else…) in the Schema and that if you have something like that, you simply need to create a version of them in the UISchema instead. Is that correct?

If/Then/Else is partially supported in JSON Forms. If used only for validation purposes, e.g. to mark an attribute required conditionally, they usually work fine. However we ignore them when they are used for structure. Note that If/Then/Else in JSON Schema is very generic so this is not only about conditionally showing some inputs but it can basically change the whole schema.

There is no special If/Then/Else in the UI Schema. However we have support for rules in the UI Schema which can express conditional enablement and visibility for associated UI Schema elements. To express the conditions we again use JSON Schema, so technically you can then actually use If/Then/Else there.

Some of our renderer sets (i.e. React Material and Vue 2 Vuetify) also have renderers for oneOf/allOf/anyOf. So if you can reformulate your If/Then/Else construct to oneOf/allOf/anyOf you already get some basic support.