Vue seed example nested json

I am new to the library and I try to learn how to implement JSONForms using the seed example for modelling. When I change the schema to contain a nested object I get “No applicable renderer found.”.

I read from the documentation (Renderer sets - JSON Forms) that objects may not yet be supported.

Is it correct that I can currently only use flat json schemas with the vue integration?

[original thread by glockenbach]

Hi @llundin(llundin), thanks for your interest in JSON Forms. Nested objects work perfectly fine, you’ll just need to adapt the scope of the controls in the given ui schema, e.g.

{
  type: 'object',
  properties: {
    personalData: {
      type: 'object',
      properties: {
          type: 'integer',
        },
    },
    name: {
      type: 'string'
    },
}
{
  type: 'VerticalLayout',
  elements: [
    {
      type: 'Control',
      scope: '#/properties/name'
    },
    {
      type: 'Control',
      scope: '#/properties/personalData/properties/age'
    },
  ]
}

Of course you could also implement an object renderer yourself.

[glockenbach]

Thank you for your quick response!

Sorry I should have mentioned, I am trying to omit the uiSchema.
Using your example I can get it to work but is there a way I can do it without providing the layout?

Hi @llundin(llundin), only by providing an object renderer, which should not be too hard, or by generating the appropriate ui schema yourself. See https://spectrum.chat/jsonforms/general/get-full-generated-uischema-to-tweak-it~c24edb06-8be4-4cea-8e3d-dd83b07f9a2d for more information about the latter.

[glockenbach]

Thanks again for your quick reply!

I followed your advice and implemented a recursive schema generator. For documentation prupose I will pase it here:

const getNestedProperties = (base, obj) => {
  const result = [];
  for (const [key, value] of Object.entries(obj)) {
    const prefix = `${base}/properties/${key}`;
    if (value.hasOwnProperty("properties")) {