Material UI 14 dependency issue

I want to use JSONForms in my react typescript project that uses react v17, material ui v5.

I setup a separate “trial project” first with steps listed at Create a JSON Forms App - JSON Forms. The only deviation from those steps is that I have switched to react v17 because my main project has that dependency.

This trial project fails to compile. There are too many errors but most of them are probably related to two main errors that it is not able to resolve modules material-ui/core and material-ui/icons.

As per tutorial, I am installing Material UI 5 (mui/material). However, JSONForms is looking for Material 14. As I am still new to JavaScript world, need some guidance here. Am I missing something? Why is there Material 14 dependency?

There are just too many errors to post here. Posting just a snippet to give an idea about the errors.

Thanks

Failed to compile.

Module not found: Error: Can’t resolve ‘@material-ui/core’ in ‘/Users/jayantwalvekar/Development/tests/my-jsonforms-app/node_modules/@jsonforms/material-renderers/lib/additional’

WARNING in ./node_modules/js-yaml/lib/js-yaml/type/binary.js 9:15-40

Module not found: Error: Can’t resolve ‘buffer’ in ‘/Users/jayantwalvekar/Development/tests/my-jsonforms-app/node_modules/js-yaml/lib/js-yaml/type’

BREAKING CHANGE: webpack < 5 used to include polyfills for node.js core modules by default.

This is no longer the case. Verify if you need this module and configure a polyfill for it.

If you want to include a polyfill, you need to:

• add a fallback ‘resolve.fallback: { “buffer”: require.resolve(“buffer/”) }’

• install ‘buffer’

If you don’t want to include a polyfill, you can use an empty module like this:

resolve.fallback: { “buffer”: false }

WARNING in ./node_modules/ono/esm/constructor.js

Module Warning (from ./node_modules/source-map-loader/dist/cjs.js):