How to use date input on mobile?

Hello, I’m new to JSON Forms, and I have a project which needs to work on mobile as well as desktop. In trying out a page of my form on mobile, I was happy to see that most of it worked, but I can’t seem to get a date field to accept any input. If I tap the blank where I want to enter a date, no date picker comes up, no keyboard comes up, and there appears to be no way to enter a value into the date field.

Is there some way to have JSON Forms render some control that is compatible with mobile? Perhaps even something that will render HTML that will be picked up by the client’s browser and show the native OS date picker? Either that or show a similar one to the date picker that shows on desktop.

For convenience – I noticed that the problematic behavior is reproducible using just the developer tools mobile view in Chrome.

I would like to avoid writing a custom renderer if possible (especially for a simple date entry).

jsonforms/core: 3.2.1
jsonforms/material-renderers: 3.2.1
jsonforms/react: 3.2.1
mui/icons-material: 5.10.14
mui/material: 5.15.6
mui/system: 5.15.6

Thanks!

EDIT: I tried swapping materialRenderers for vanillaRenderers from @jsonforms/vanilla-renderers and that functions, although the form is not very pretty. Is there a way to get pretty Material styling and a functional date field?

Hi @dreed,

I was able to reproduce the problem with the current (hosted) JSON Forms React seed.

It seems that the icon to open the dialog to enter the date is for some reason invisible once any kind of “responsive” device is used. However it’s still there and can be clicked.

InvisibleDateIcon

We don’t do anything special here, so I don’t think the problem comes from JSON Forms. In fact, the official Material UI guide has the same issue.

OfficialMaterialUI

So the issue should be reported with Material UI. Once it’s fixed it should also work in JSON Forms.