How do I config styles or classes I want to use for controls or forms?

I am new to the library and trying to figure out how to apply styles to individual controls or forms. I am using material renderer.

Is it configurable as part of uischeme? I couldn’t find any info on styling in the documentation or example sections

Thanks

[original thread by zwjohn]

Thanks for your interest in JSON Forms. You can style the Material UI controls via their theme support. Besides theming and CSS styling the only way to influence the result would be to implement custom renderers which do exactly what you want.

[zwjohn]

Thanks Stefan, we use material theming for global theme, I was talking about some control level styling, or group level styling. I guess I have to do some research on custom renderer for that. I was hoping that css styles and css classes can be configured in the control element and group of uischema.

[zwjohn]

@sdirix I was wondering if there is way to set html id for each control or form? currently the control id is using scope value from uischema. Thanks

At the moment we don’t support setting ids or classes via the ui schema. However if that’s all you want to do then implementing a custom renderer is straight forward as you can just set your class and delegate everything else to the existing renderers. You can take a look at this tutorial for custom layout renderer which also just wraps an existing renderer.

[zwjohn]

@sdirix Thanks for the advise. I’ve tried on custom layout renderer from the the example, however, it didn’t work for me. There were two issues I encountered. 1. visible prop is always undefined, causing the the group became hidden, I had to remove hidden tag to see the group. 2. ExpansionPanelSummary is rendered after removing Hidden tag due to visible issue, however,ExpansionPanelDetails is not rendered

[zwjohn]

[zwjohn]

[zwjohn]

BTW, I am not using Redux, so I registered the renderer this way