Custom Renderer - Why to put Tester and Renderer in separate files?

Hi,
sorry for a stupid question, but I always stumble again and again over the problem, that in Javascript code often is simplified to the point of unrecognizability - I am an old JEE developer :wink:

I try to implement a custom renderer and take the Ranking example as a base. To keep my code more compact I put the React FunctionalComponent and the Control element into one single file (module).

But I was not able to put also the Tester into my module and out of a separate file.

import { rankWith, scopeEndsWith } from '@jsonforms/core';
export default rankWith(3, scopeEndsWith('eventdefinitions'));

Can someone explain me how I can define a export (not a default) in my custom Renderer module that provides an equal tester without the need to put the tester into a separate file. Or is there some deeper meaning to it?

I am really sorry about this question, but I can’t find any information about the general functionality of the Tester. I can see in the sources that there is some other layer providing the Schema and UISchema which may be useful to implement a more intelligent testing.

===
Ralph

While searching around in the vanilla array renderer implementation, I found the solution finally by myself :slight_smile:

You can of course define your Renderer and Tester in one module (single file) with the following code setup:

interface MyRendererProps {
}

interface MyRendererControlProps {
}

const  MyRendererComponent: React.FC< MyRendererProps> = ({ value, updateValue }: any) => (
    <div ....> 
    </div>
);

const MyRendererControl = ({ data, handleChange, path }: MyRendererControlProps) => (
  <MyRendererComponent
    value={data}
    updateValue={(newValue: number) => handleChange(path, newValue)}
  />
);

// Export the renderer and the tester
export const MyRendererTester: RankedTester = rankWith(
  scopeEndsWith('.......')
);